Unterstützen Sie uns!


Protonwerk No. 14 - Videokunst & Neue Musik

Protonwerk is the platform for contemporary music, created by Ensemble Proton Bern. With the support of Swiss Arts Council Pro Helvetia we have been working together to inspire the upcoming generation of composers early on in their professional careers. Those interested can apply to receive a commission to write a new work for one of the annual Protonwerk concerts.

Since the beginning, Ensemble Proton Bern has launched a Protonwerk "special" every other year. While the "normal" editions are dedicated to contemporary music, the ensemble puts the focus on cross-disciplinary arts in these other editions. Protonwerk No. 14 wants to discover the exciting interaction between video art and contemporary music. To this end, we are simultaneously running two calls for scores and videos (composition & video art). The selected composers will have the opportunity to choose from a short list of different art videos they would like to set to music.

Application for Composers

Application for Video Artists

Closing date for the application for composers is 15th October 2023.

Closing date for the application for video artists is 31th October 2023.

Coming up

The concert of Protonwerk No. 13 will take place on 23.4.2024 at the Dampfzentrale Bern and on 8.5.2024 at the Gare du Nord in Basel.

With world premieres by Isaac Blumfield, Nuño Fernández Ezquerra, Alex Vaughan, Anna-Louise Walton and Arda Yurdusev.