Support us!

become a patron

concerts & events

Ensemble Proton Bern

  • conductor Matthias Kuhn
  • flute Aurora Pajón Fernández
  • oboe Martin Bliggenstorfer
  • clarinet Richard Haynes
  • bassoon Elise Jacoberger
  • trumpet Noé Nillni
  • harp Miriam Paschetta
  • piano Coco Schwarz
  • violin Maximilian Haft
  • viola Petra Ackermann
  • violoncello Jan-Filip Ťupa

West Coast Reloaded

Tuesday 13. December 2022, 7.30 pm

Friday 16. December 2022, 7.30 pm

Schafer, Dominique (1967 - 2019)

Vers une présence réelle… com

pour Ensemble Proton Bern

Play Youtube Video

Ueno, Ken (*1970)

Like Starlings in Winter (2022) UA, com

Play Youtube Video

Lin, Mu-Xuan (*1984)

A teenage fairy, they were (2022) UA, com

Play Youtube Video

Boneh, Oren (*1991)

Municipal Shuffle (2022) UA, com

Play Youtube Video

Ensemble Proton's tour of the North American West Coast in 2018 witnessed many exciting artistic encounters. At the universities of Stanford, Berkeley and Seattle, the ensemble got to know both young composition students and their teachers. Several of these encounters left a lasting impression and sparked a mutual desire to work together more intensively and to learn from one other. Two new compositional concepts by Oren Boneh (then PhD candidate, Berkeley) and Ken Ueno (Professor of Composition, Berkeley) originate from the 2018 exchange with Ensemble Proton. One of the prominent Swiss composers featured on tour was Dominique Schafer, who tragically passed away in 2019. West Coast Reloaded is a programme conceived for, performed in and dedicated to the memory of Dominique.

We also commissioned a new work from Taiwanese composer Mu-Xuan Lin (Taiwan/USA, lecturer at Chapman University), who currently lives and works in Los Angeles. Mu-Xuan Lin was one of the winners of the Protonwerk in 2013. Her new work for Ensemble Proton centers around the idea of Southern California, specifically Los Angeles, where the cityscape is perceived and measured by horizontal plains and webs of highways. Amidst instrumental sounds are field recordings from LA that are projected as narrow sound sources from eight Bluetooth speakers. The gritty and the serene, or the humane and the artificial, are at once mingled and disparate.

Oren Boneh pursues a setting akin to a musical drama in his new piece that showcases Richard Haynes' impressive virtuosity as a solo clarinettist alongside the unique instrumental mix of the full ensemble. Haynes and Boneh will work together closely in bringing the solo instrument to life in all its facets and exploring the contrasts between the beautiful, the comical and the monstrous. Ken Ueno, on the other hand, dedicates his new work to the lupophone, the bass oboe that Martin Bliggenstorfer had specially built for his instrumental work several years ago. Here, too, composer and soloist will be engaged in an intensive collaboration.

Composition commissions by Ensemble Proton Bern sponsored by the Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation.

Supporting programme

Der besondere Probenbesuch
Monday, 12.12.2022, Dampfzentrale Bern