Unterstützen Sie uns!

concerts & events

Ensemble Proton Bern

  • conductor Cordula Bürgi
  • Sopran Elina Viluma-Helling
  • Alt Helena Sorokina
  • tenor Bernd Lambauer
  • bass Piotr Pieron
  • flute Bettina Berger
  • oboe Martin Bliggenstorfer
  • clarinet Richard Elliot Haynes
  • bassoon Sergei Khvorostianov
  • harp Vera Schnider
  • Synthesizer Coco Schwarz
  • violin Maximilian Haft
  • violoncello Jan-Filip Ťupa

Vier: Norden Süden links und rechts

Thursday 5. September 2024, 7.00 pm

Ott, Daniel (*1960)

6/7 gare du sud (2014/20) UA

Version 2020, für Bassklarinette, Harfe, Violine & Violoncello

Play Youtube Video

Pelzel, Michael (*1978)

Ruta del fin del Mundo (2024) UA, com

Schmucki, Annette (*1968)

grenze&flur_ west (2024) UA, com

Winkelman, Helena (*1974)

Rechterhand die Sonne (2024) UA, com

With four singers from the vocal ensemble for old and new music Cantando Admont (Vienna/Graz).

For many the terms north, east, south and west arouse concrete images and feelings. In some cases, Switzerland is a rich country to the north, or in others it’s a mountainous country to the south. Switzerland may just be a short stop on the way north- or southwards. It might also be destination at the end of an adventure that made one’s own inner compass more important than ever…
Ensemble Proton and vocal ensemble Cantando Admont perform an existing work by Daniel Ott "6/7 gare du sud" and have commissioned three other Swiss composers to illuminate the four points of the compass in image, word and sound.

Borders, border crossings, migration, home, origin, international situation: how is it all connected? Which direction is it going? Where do I—where do we stand in all of this? In their own unique ways, composers Annette Schmucki, Helena Winkelman and Michael Pelzel approach with these issues artistically, with a focus on the ethical, the geographical and the political compass.