Support us!

become a patron

concerts & events

Ensemble Proton Bern

  • flute Bettina Berger
  • oboe Martin Bliggenstorfer
  • clarinet Richard Haynes
  • bassoon Elise Jacoberger
  • Synthesizer Coco Samuel Fried
  • Harfe (Bern) Julia Wacker
  • Harfe (Wiesbaden und Genf) Vera Schnider
  • Violine (Bern und Biel) Corinna Canzian
  • Violine (Wiesbaden und Genf) Maximilian Haft
  • violoncello Jan-Filip Ťupa
  • drum kit João Carlos Pacheco
  • drum kit Jörg Fischer
  • Live-Elektronik Arturo Corrales
  • sound engineering Maxime Le Saux

Next to Your Fire

Wednesday 13. April 2022, 8.00 pm

Thursday 14. April 2022, 8.30 pm

Tuesday 18. October 2022, 8.00 pm

Corrales, Arturo (*1973)

Azulejo (2012)

Krebber, Steffen (*1976)

Laß mich bei den schicken Villen in den Wicken chillen! (2020/21) UA, com

for drum set, ensemble and two loudspeakers

Omelchuk, Oxana (*1975)

breakcourage (2022) UA, com

Seidl, Hannes (*1977)

Brave Chords (2022) UA, com

für Oboe, Fagott, Harfe und Feedback

Trio, Corrales/Fischer/Ťupa

Next to Your Fire (2022) UA

Counter-culture vs. counter-culture. Critical intellect and experimentation vs. angry rebellion and release. Contemporary music vs. rock 'n' roll. On the surface, these two musical cultures are fundamentally different, but in their essence closely related: they share an incandescent desire to change the world, to evade the prevailing societal mechanisms; their unifying quality is to stand in opposition to the establishment. With contemporary music happening (too often) in academic circles, for hand-picked audiences and within pointed intellectual discourse, its disciples gaze enviously at the impact of the more rebellious rock 'n' roll. How gladly would one be singed by the flames of rock; how gladly would one be bowled over by its anger. However, caution: at all costs do not jeopardise the intellectual quality of the work...

This project at the nexus of new music and rock boasts three world premieres by composers Oxana Omelchuk, Hannes Seidl and Steffen Krebber as well as two existing pieces including Azulejo by Swiss composer, Arturo Corrales, in a new arrangement by the ensemble. An integral part of the concept is the addition of drum kit to the ensemble and the consequential amplification and live fusion of the sound using the aesthetic stylistic devices of rock 'n' roll, featuring close miking of the drum kit and electromagnetic pickups of the stringed instruments.