Support us!

become a patron

concerts & events

Ensemble Proton Bern

  • conductor Francesco Bossaglia
  • flute Bettina Berger
  • lupophone Martin Bliggenstorfer
  • clarinet Richard Haynes
  • contraforte Elise Jacoberger
  • harp Vera Schnider
  • piano Coco Samuel Fried
  • violin Maximilian Haft
  • violoncello Jan-Filip Ťupa


Tuesday 27. April 2021, 7.30 pm & 7.00 pm

Thursday 29. April 2021, 8.00 pm

Andreyev, Samuel (*1981) Samuel Andreyev

Sonata da Camera (2021)

Kompositionsauftrag vom Ensemble Proton Bern gefördert durch die Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung

Vassena, Nadir (*1970)

vox silentii (2021) UA, com

Concert Introduction: 27 April, 18.30 at Dampfzentrale Bern

Sensuousness often takes a back seat to the rational in the context of contemporary art music. However in this programme is an approach in favour of the joy of sound and the need for expression. The expressive world of Samuel Andreyev's composition was created in response to Vermeer's painting, with its focus on interior spaces and people quietly absorbed in meticulous activities within them. The piece exists within limited spaces, while always striving to transcend them. «vox silentii» by Nadir Vassena is a long meditation through listening. It is a piece that requires intonation precision at the limit and immersion in an extremely stretched flow of time. There is no room for special effects to impress the listener. The listener is not a spectator, but a witness to sound events that are born and die and are constantly renewed.